Recent Award Winners

Hearst Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship in History

Alexi Thomas Stocker

Grace Douglas Johnston Award

Bill Edwards, "Remedying Inferiority: Institutional Engagement with Argentine Indios after the Conquest of the Desert"
William Kirkland, "Decentralizing Computers and Capitalism: Silicon Valley and the Politics of the Free Market, 1971-1984"

Wilks Prize in African History

Karen Adjei, "Misguided Opposition under Apartheid and The Black Consciousness Movement"

Jacob Lassner Prize

Sarah Bruyere, "'You Must Have Been Looking for Them, Madam!' Richard Burton’s Thousand Nights and a Night and Victorian Sexuality"

First-Year Seminar Essay Award

Wade Knight, "Joan, the Prophet"

Josef Barton Research Seminar Essay Award

Melissa Codd, "Tom Dooley and Folk Commodification"

Phi Beta Kappa

The following History majors have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa for 2017.


  • Tyler Goff
  • Samantha Schmidt


  • Julianna Astarita (elected 2016)
  • Christopher Burrows (elected 2016)
  • Callahan Corcoran (elected 2016)
  • Amy Eisenstein
  • Noah Repel (elected 2016)
  • Allison Sherlock
  • Kevin Slack
  • Yiran Wang