Skip to main content

News and Awards

Summer 2018

Current Grads

Ryan Burns has won the Bernard Aspinwall Memorial Essay Prize from the Scottish Catholic Historical Association for his essay, “Enforcing Uniformity: Kirk Sessions and Catholics in Early Modern Scotland, 1560–1650.”  This prize is for the best essay by an early-career researcher on any aspect of Scottish Catholic history.

Myisha Eatmon has been selected as a 2018 Preyer Scholar by the American Society for Legal History.

William FitzSimons has published an article entitled “Sizing up the ‘small wars’ of African empire: an assessment of the context and legacies of nineteenth-century colonial warfare,” in the Journal of African Military History, vol. 2, no. 1 (2018), pp. 63–78.

Matthew Foreman has received the Percy Buchanan Prize from the Midwest Conference on Asian Affairs for his essay, “Racial Modernity in Republican China, 1927–1945.”  This prize is for the best essay by a graduate student on China and Inner Asia.

Alum News

Marlous van Waijenburg (Ph.D. 2017) has won the Dissertation Competition (20th Century) at the World Economic History Congress.

Back to top